Free Land!

As I sat eating my lunch in the Faculty room last week, a substitute teacher mentioned there is an island in the Pacific giving away land. Really?! I got to thinking, maybe this is an option! I looked it up. It is called Pitcairin.

Screen Shot 2018-02-25 at 5.40.59 PM

According to Wikipedia, it is a group of four volcanic islands in the southern Pacific Ocean that form the last British Overseas Territory in the South Pacific.” When I read more, I discovered it has internet and a shop opened 3 times a week. And the supplies ordered from New Zealand only take 3 months. The temperature is in the 60s all year long and the island is surrounded by the bluest water! And a big plus for someone like me who doesn’t know other languages, English is spoken by the 50 current residents.

With the recent news, escaping to an island sounds refreshing. I can’t understand the people who think school teachers or administrators should have the right to carry a gun at school. And if this ever becomes a rule where I work, I’ll need an exit strategy. So moving to a remote island where the land is free, might be my option. For now, it is a pretty place to dream about visiting at least for a vacation, if not for my next act.

 

14 thoughts on “Free Land!

  1. cindaroo42 says:

    Hi Sally! Great to read your blog again this year!
    Your post about this island is a much needed contrast to all of the horrible news and events lately. You do a great sell with your description- although the 3 months of waiting for supplies from New Zealand will be an adjustment for my Amazon-Prime obsession.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    This little island … sounds amazing! I don’t need to live there full time … but time away when needed? Sign me up! Maybe we can dedicate it to educators. That would be a fun gathering! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment