My Street

My street is just a block long. Not counting the homes on the fours corners that face the perpeducular streets at either end, there are only 10 homes on my street. We moved here when our girls were in 1st and 4th grade. Now they are both in there 30s.

When we moved in, Mrs. D had lived on this street for many years already. Currently, she and I are now the oldest owners. The other 8 homes have all been razed and a newer home built and a younger family moved in. We chose to raze our home and build a new home (thanks to my architect husband – I’ve written about it here) and Mrs. D lives in the original home with an addition added on to the back.

I leave my home most school days at 6am. I walk to my car, parked on the street in front of my home. Across the street and diagonally to the right is Mrs. D’s home. I’ve gotten in the habit of first walking to her yard and looking around for her delivered Washington Post newspaper. Once I spot it, I pick it up and walk it to her front porch. It is always in a plastic bag so I use her screen door handle to punch a hole and leave the newspaper hanging from her handle. I expect she appreciates opening her door to get her newspaper and not having to go outside to hunt for it in her yard.

Today, when I did this, I got a gift in return. To the right of her front porch is a beautiful camilian bush. I smiled, as I saw all its buds ready to bloom! I can’t wait to see it in the days to come!

11 thoughts on “My Street

  1. Melanie Meehan says:

    My dad used to bring newspapers to people’s doorsteps, and years later, they still talk about it. It sounds like a wonderful place to raise a family– and return as one! Looking forward to more slices about Aden.

    Like

  2. Jennifer Sniadecki says:

    Ah, neighbors! I love our neighbors around us, but we are moving soon, so I was a little anxious. It was nice to see so many people walk up the new driveway to introduce themselves and welcome us to the neighborhood! You are a great neighbor. Thanks for being there.

    Like

Leave a comment