We Need a Word for This Feeling

As I drove to the airport on Friday to retrieve my granddaughter, Aden, I was reminded of the title/sentence from Fran’s March 7th post – https://pencilonmybackporch.home.blog/2024/03/07/we-need-a-word-for-this-feeling/, “We need a word for that feeling.”

I, of course, was feeling excited at first. I even took a half-day off from work so I could grocery shop and then head to the airport around 2pm. At 1:45pm, I opened the box my daughter had had delivered to our house the day before. Inside was a car seat. I grabbed it and the 20 page manuel and headed to the car. I was still feeling excited, at this point.

I opened the back seat passanger door, sat the car seat facing rear on the seat and opened the manuel. I easily decoded the words. Yet, they made no sense to me. I flipped to page 5 which had a small diagram. Now, t started to feel like I was getting closer to properly installing this throne for Aden. Then I saw the recommendation at the bottom of the page suggesting to look in the car owner’s manuel for car specific instructions. Really?

So I opened the front seat passanger door, the glove compartment and found words on page 143 related to installing a rear-facing car seat. Again, I decoded the words but I wasn’t understanding exactly what to do to secure this seat. The diagraom on page 144 showed I could use the clips and not use the backseat seatbelt. OK. But where are the clips? Back to the 20-page manuel and I read the text about using the clips. But I still couldn’t figure out where the clips were. I was feeling less excited now. But what word, exactly?

Quickly, I turned the seat around and on the opposite side was a taped baggie. And inside were the clips!! There was even a useful sticker on that side of the seat with an arrow and the words “clips through here”. So I threaded the one clip through the tunnel area of the seat and used the clip to attach to a metal bar in my car’s back seat cushion. Then the other clip, I attached on my side of the seat in the same way. Whew…I glanced at the time and thought, I better get going.

I looked at the seat harness and knew it needed adjusting but I couldn’t tell from the manuel. Then I noticed a QR Code. Of course, I thought. I’ll watch the video. I quickly used my camera to read the code. But then my phone replied, “Can’t connect to Safari.” Really?

Wanting to arrive as the perfect Uber driver / grandma, I shut the passager doors, climbed into the driver’s seat and arrived at Dulles Airport. Within 5 minutes, my daughter, son-in-law and most importantly, Aden, came through the airport doors. Then within minutes, my daughter had Aden securely strapped in for the ride to Grandma’s house. Really?

I’m stealing words from Fran’s ending to her slice: “I still say we need a word for this feeling. Suggestions?

Ironically, I was listening to this podcast on the way to the airport about the science of reading. I can decode text. I can read diagrams. I can access my background knoweldge. Yet, I still couldn’t completely secure a car seat rear-facing into my car, all by myself. Maybe we need another word for “reading”, too.

15 thoughts on “We Need a Word for This Feeling

  1. Ramona says:

    I keep two car seats installed in my car. And when they come out or have to go back in, I ask the kids to do it. (Small price for having grandma two minutes away.) I’m so impressed with your tenacity!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fran McCrackin says:

    Oh my, I have totally felt that car seat panic. And you leave plenty of time but then it’s not enough. I agree- there should be more words for reading. I, for example, and a very good reader but NOT for instructions. Especially not whole manuals of them. It IS a different skill and there should be a different word! I had a few commenters to my piece who were great wordsmiths, but I am not. I hope you get some creative suggestions!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Erika says:

    While you are more focused on the getting the car seat in correctly part I noticed this part: “Within 5 minutes, my daughter, son-in-law and most importantly, Aden, came through the airport doors. Then within minutes, my daughter had Aden securely strapped in for the ride to Grandma’s house. Really?”

    Here you expressed perfectly the way I felt demoted by my mom once I had kids- those grand kids were the priority! Also, you became acutely aware that your daughter had expert knowledge that you did not yet have. That can be surprising. This all captured PERFECTLY the “my child is an a wonderful adult” feeling! Enjoy it all!

    Like

  4. katlynhbennett says:

    I could feel the stress of everything getting more and more complicated as you did each part of this task. I think this kind of thing is good for us- it reminds us how hard learning can be!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kimhaynesjohnson says:

    They don’t make ’em like they used to when it was a one minute installation. I was out with my son and he was going to give two of my friends a ride to the hotel when we were walking in Savannah, Georgia (he lives close, so he came to meet us and have dinner), but the car seats were too involved to take out and put back in, so the friends walked back to the hotel and I rode in the front seat. I don’t have a name for that feeling…..I would say outpaced is how I feel every time I can’t figure it out and the younger generation just swims right through it. Enjoy time with your little one!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Denise Krebs says:

    Sally, fun post, but the best part is that your daughter figured out easily anything you might have missed. We are in a new chapter now! I would say we need a word for the feeling that is especially reserved for grandparents–the parents get to do the hard stuff, and we get the joys of enjoying the little ones.

    Like

  7. mschiubookawrites says:

    100% all of this! You portray the incomprehensible manual instructions and the time crunch of the moment so well with your description and internal thoughts. Connecting this to the podcast is another step! Reading is rocket science, especially when it comes to installing car seats. Enjoy those family snuggles!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment