#AuthorsAreRockStars

My friend, John, has a mantra related to listening to and believing that the “Universe Speaks”. I felt his manta today. I spent an hour conversing with author, Jerry Craft (I wrote about my prep for this HERE). Then, as I drove home from the VSRA Conference being hosted in my town in-person this week, my car started playing the newest On Being podcast on my car radio. Krista Tippett was interviewing author, Kate DiCamillo (I adore ALL Kate’s books and have blogged about her HERE and HERE.

Both authors spoke of their responsiblity to write the truth for their children audiences.
Both authors spoke of their drive to use their writing to connect with readers.
Both authors spoke of their desire for readers to see themselves in books.

#AuthorsAreRockStars

I’m feeling hopeful about our future because of Jerry and Kate. They are writing the books they needed as kids right now for today’s children! The Universe allowed me to converse with them both today.

OnBeing: Kate, for the 8-yr old in your
(worth a listen! 51-minutes – warning, I did need kleenex)

8 thoughts on “#AuthorsAreRockStars

  1. Erika says:

    When a student picked up New Kid today I told him my friend just interviewed the author- any chance it was recorded? I can’t wait to listen to the On Being episode- thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. kimhaynesjohnson says:

    This speaks to my heart. This is the same premise of my blog post today; I live in Georgia, where the book banning and censorship missions are going full throttle. The slippery slope, I fear, will avalanche once it gains actionable momentum. And then, how will children connect with others like them? How will they see themselves in books? How will they learn truths about themselves and others? Your post raises these questions that keep me thinking all the time. I often wish that the characters’ miniature versions came alive and when someone threatened to ban a book, they saw the real people so they could see what they are attempting to do – – “erase” real relationships that readers develop with characters. Yes, yes, yes to all you post about today!

    Like

  3. Rita K. says:

    Oh, I’m so glad I read your post today and can’t wait to listen to your podcast. It sound like it’s right up my alley. You have inspired me to check out Jerry Craft’s work and of course, I love Kate. Thanks so much for sharing this.

    Like

  4. cmargocs says:

    You are so fortunate to have had that time with authors who make a difference! It broke my heart when Craft’s New Kid came under attack here in TX (it’s on “Krause’s List”). As a school librarian, I feel like I’ve spent this year poised and ready to defend any and every book that resides in our collection.

    Like

  5. mschiubookawrites says:

    Not sure how I missed this post, but I’m so glad I found it. Your comparison of the two authors drive home the fundamental point- we need to see ourselves and learn about others in stories. I’m so thrilled you had the opportunity to learn from these authors.

    Like

Leave a comment