#ILoveLiveTheater

I reread this ending to my slice HERE from March 2, 2020:

Blurry photo…maybe it is symbolic of how quickly the colorful magic of theater just ends and it is back to the empty, black stage, awaiting the next year’s production.
All are home, with the music still playing in their heads
And dreams of next year’s musical!

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Back in March, 2020, I never imagined this stage would remain empty and black for so long.
Listening to the cast sing “It’s a Hard Knock Life” brought tears to my eyes for a multiple of reasons.

As the middle schoolers sang “The sun will come out tomorrow” at the finale, I realize how helpful this mantra is. A virus and bombs may fill a tomorrow. But so will opportunities to come together, supporting one another. Bravo to the cast and crew of Dorothy Hamm Middle School!

8 thoughts on “#ILoveLiveTheater

  1. jarhartz says:

    Oh that song! It chicks me up just thinking about it. Especially in light of our times. Looking back is a great practice. Isn’t it wonderful how the blog allows this.

    Like

  2. Beth Sanderson says:

    I know your heart is full now that live theater is back on the middle school stage. Your support and encouragement has helped hundreds of students over the years find the confidence to step up, sing out and rejoice!

    Like

  3. Fran McCrackin says:

    Nice format- two photos with words in between. And your love for live theater and for your students shines through. This post is one of those little reminders of bigger things- we are getting back closer to normal, and also what is normal? It is more fragile than we used to think. So let’s work together and appreciate what we can do now. That’s what I read!

    Like

  4. humbleswede says:

    This is great. We’re planning to go live for the first time in 2 years, too. The first week of April seems close. We’re just hoping there isn’t any last-minute surge to foil us. Congrats on the sun coming out.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Erika says:

    I was JUST talking with a friend about how it was two years ago today that we all knew our world was changing. I should go look at what my post from that day said- I wonder if I really knew…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment