Architects

My husband is teaching his first achitecture class to seniors at Catholic University this semester. Back in January, he met his 12 students and from 1-6pm each Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, he guides them in pairs to design a building. With his phone acting as a timer, he starts and offers “desk crits”: Tell me your thinking about placing that there? You might look at so-and-so architect’s work. It’s a similar concept. Take a look at so-and-so building. The way they use that material might give you an idea. He pulls out tracing paper, lays it on their building plan and draws another idea for the pair to consider. After 30 minutes, on to the next pair so all get feedback by 6pm. By May they are to have their final “pin-up” and then graduate.

Now he sits in what we call the office in our home every Monday, Wednesday and Friday. With headphones on and his laptop in front of him, he chats with student pairs. Each student sits alone in their home, miles aways from each other. Now they are all together in this virtual meeting. Using computer tools, he marks up their drawings as he suggests different possiblities. Together they debate various options. By May they are to have their final “pin up” and then graduate. Yet, their college campus is closed due to the pandemic.

Last Monday, the architecture school had a virtual Town Hall. Students shared how hard all this is. One articulated how before, they were physically together and could easily vent. Now she feels isolated and is finding it hard to stay motivated to complete assignments.

As my husband shared her comment with me, I started thinking about the importance of teaching architecture. As humans, we thrive through interactions with others. We need places to have these interactions. Architects design those spaces. Now we are all at home and thanks to technology, we are connecting. We see faces on a screen. We take turns talking. It is fine in the short term. But I’m coming to realize the importance of having places to go, to interact, to be social, to play, to enjoy the company of others. Today, (on my architect husband’s birthday), I appreciate architects!

Can you name a PLACE/SPACE designed by an architect, that you especially like visiting? Here’s a link to a proir post where I name my Top 10!

5 thoughts on “Architects

  1. Suzanne Richardson says:

    Loved this. The need to congregate in various buildings, is so key. Whether it is a cafe, bookstore or library. I miss my library; It’s design is beautiful. I do remember when they renovated about 2 decades ago, and how I watched it develop. From an architect’s mind, to the design, to a place to hold wonderful worlds, written by authors.

    Like

  2. Beth Sanderson says:

    Wonderful post Sally! For me, the most wonderful thing about an indoor space is when the person inside is offered an expansive view of the outside…the best of both worlds. I love a big bay window that looks out at the sea, a window into the woods and a big window that illuminates a skyline!

    Like

  3. franmcveigh says:

    Beautiful tribute for your husband’s birthday that underlines the importance of process and community! Design . . . one of many roles of a teacher as well. And he has the benefit of being an architect and a teacher – Win/Win!!! ❤

    Like

  4. Heather Sox says:

    My best friends husband is an architect! He’s designed so many cool spaces and has spoken to my class on career day in the past. I’m always so in awe of his vision. I can’t imagine how hard it is for college students right now. This is the time they are learning their work habits and self-management strategies that will evolve as they move into a career.

    I love the Line Hotel in DC. It was a church turned into a hotel. Super cool place to work and get coffee!

    Like

  5. Susan Kennedy says:

    Being from Chicago, I love visiting all the a Frank Lloyd Wright buildings and interior designs. However some of favorite buildings are the white city buildings in my home town of St. Louis, the Art Museum and in Chicago, the Art Institute.

    Like

Leave a comment