A non-routine day

It’s 8:17pm….pm, not am.

I have a routine. I like my routine. I wrote about it here. I post in the morning. Then, at this time of evening, I come back to make some comments.

Today, the first day knowing I won’t return to the school building during this school year (the VA Governor made the announcement yesterday) has me in a bit of a fog. I guess that’s why I moved through this day slowly. I had one Microsoft Team virtual meeting at 8:30am. I had another Google Hangout CLT meeting at 1pm. I facetimed with a friend. I did 2 loads of laundry. I took a walk. I made a chicken caesar salad for dinner. Finally, I am pushing through the fog to write.

I tend to like to have an image to add as a Featured Image as I start to write. I felt like I had nothing today. Then I recalled the best part of my day. For a few moments this morning, my daughter and I exchanged texted messages. My daughter is in France and she’s an awesome high school English teacher!

So, as this day is getting away from me, I am happy that I was able to collaborate with a teacher in France, my daughter! She is trying to help them access online information using Google Classroom. She wasn’t sure what the students would see on their device from their home. I got to be her guinea pig and it felt good to be helpful in a small way. Hopefully, tomorrow, I can get back to a routine!

** Proof that my daughter is an engaging teacher: She shared these fun Kahoots with me!! While teaching her French HS students English, she also is teaching them about English speaking holidays and about the American government.

Take the Kahoot challenge!!

St. Patrick’s Day: https://kahoot.it/challenge/0255101?challenge-id=34820a9b-64b1-44a0-8d97-6b2538cc8a3d_1584440169038

The President: https://kahoot.it/challenge/0800883

4 thoughts on “A non-routine day

  1. mschiubookawrites says:

    I was wondering where you were! Sometimes we need the fog to dissipate before we continue on. How lovely to be with people virtually all day today. I think being your daughter’s guinea pig was the best!

    Like

  2. MegMcCormick says:

    I, too, was wondering if I had somehow missed your slice! I can totally relate to your disoriented fog but I’m so glad you pushed through and shared the positive impact you had on your daughter today.

    Like

  3. TLC says:

    I still am not quite in a routine, so you are a step ahead. So great that you can interact with your daughter teacher to teacher!

    Like

Leave a comment