Not in Kansas Anymore

I handed my car key to the hotel valet driver and entered the three-story high hotel atrium space.  The escalator to the 2nd-floor registration desk seemed to float in front of me. As I ascended, I had that Dorothy-not-in-Kansas-anymore-feeling, as my eyes spanned up and around.

After checking in and settling into my room for the night,  I shared this with my virtual world:

Screen Shot 2019-03-14 at 5.56.31 AM

After registering, I settled into a comfy seat at the wine bar, sipped a glass of red and found my name in print:

Screen Shot 2019-03-14 at 5.56.55 AM

Before retiring for a good night sleep before it became Thursday, my co-presentor and I found the presentation room and snapped this selfie in front of the room’s agenda board:

IMG_0861

If you are in VA Beach for the 2019 VSRA Conference, come find me in the Fusion Room today at 2:45pm. If not, check back here tomorrow and I’ll tell you how my presentation went. I’m excited to share how I help my students use their Reading Notebooks to make their invisible thinking visible. I’m excited to be in another part of the world.

 

9 thoughts on “Not in Kansas Anymore

  1. dianeandlynne says:

    I’d love to be there to hear your presentation. I’ll be looking forward to your post tomorrow! Nice selfie, by the way.

    Like

  2. wordjourneysite says:

    You are having quite the week! No wonder you feel like your not in Kansas anymore.
    I’m so glad you are getting a chance to share the great work you are doing with notebooks. (Do you get nervous when doing the presentations? What kinds of thoughts go through your head?)

    Like

    • sallydonnelly11 says:

      Catherine – thanks for your good wishes. It did go well! And now I’m on the train to NYC. I plan to arrive early to Riverside church. I’ll plan to sit in the front, on the LEFT side as you walk down the main aisle . Look for me!!

      Like

Leave a comment