Since Last March

Inspired by a poetry form, Since Last March… written by Fran yesterday, I’m going to give it a try today. This will be my quick draft. I know it can be better once I really research all I did since last March. By here goes, off the top of my head….

Since last March,  I’ve been all over.
France to see Anne
Brooklyn to see Bridgit.
Louisville to see extended family.
The Upper West Side to see my educational family.
and La Jolla to see the sunset.

Since last March, I’ve said good-bye.
Good-bye to my dear friend, taken too soon by Alzheimer’s.
Good-bye to waiting for approval or invites.
Good-bye to practical and predictables.

Since last March, I’ve said hello.
Hello to a finished modern home.
Hello to the new mantle, rug and sectional sofa.
Hello to new sod and shrubs and 2 new trees.
Hello to the entire family visiting over the holidays.

Hello March!

Where have YOU been since last March?
What have you said good-bye to since last March?
What have you said hello to since last March?

 

13 thoughts on “Since Last March

  1. Ms Victor Reads says:

    I loved Fran’s version and I love yours too- may have to try my own version one of these days. It is amazing to consider all the change one year can bring. Oooh, that reminds me- I will be in DC for ALA in June- maybe we can meet up?!

    Like

    • sallydonnelly11 says:

      Erica,
      Thanks for teaching me about this conference IN MY NEIGHBORHOOD!!! I definitely want to meet up with you. My last day of school is June 21st so not sure about attending conference.
      But pencil me definitely to cross paths while you are in DC.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. paulabourque says:

    That Fran is so inspiring. I love this idea. We often reflect on our year around Dec. 31st, but what if we took any moment in time and started there? A whole new perspective might emerge! Thanks, for a fun slice!

    Like

  3. dianeandlynne says:

    I’m going to have to try this form. I love how much your poem says in such a short form. Your year has been full. Thank you for sharing your experiences.

    Like

  4. irishdaybreak says:

    Somehow as I read this, I am hearing the Beatles singing you say hello, hello, hello, ….You family lives in the best places. Brooklyn and France, it doesn’t get any better than that! Sometimes you ahve to say goodbye to make room for hello. Fun writing

    Like

  5. Beth Sanderson says:

    What a wonderful mentor text your post is for the rest of us! I may have to try this format for a slice. I especially love thinking about the places you have been and the things you have done. Favorite line: Good-bye to waiting for approval or invites. You go girl!!

    Like

  6. hansonberries says:

    This is a wonderful format that I too, would like to try. And thank you for sharing the link to go back to … you have done it justice for sure. And it was fun to read yours, hers, and the original.
    And I am sorry you had to say goodbye to a dear friend. Life changes so quickly. What a great way to reflect!

    Like

Leave a comment