Mary Oliver

As I read Betsy’s invitation to write today (1/21/19), I realize she is the second person to relfect on the passing of a poet that I humbly admit, I did not know. The first person is a friend (and fllow Slicer) who posted to facebook on the day of her passing:

img_4160

Then while driving Sunday morning I was listening to NPR and the show On Being was replaying their interview with this poet. Once I got to the coffee shop, I found the podcast online and sat and listened and even made a Reading Notebook page to help me hold onto what I was hearing and thinking (something I am trying to do more so I can show my work to my students).

If you are like me and don’t know this poet, I encourage you to find time and listen:

On Being Interview with Mary Oliver

I’m glad I did if only to know of her poem, The Summer Day, which I found online:

screen shot 2019-01-22 at 7.29.27 am

After she recited it on the podcast, I wrote in my notebook, “WOW – what a poem!!!!
Stretching out ALL she saw as she watched a grasshopper.
MENTOR TEXT – bit by bit

I’m am grateful for friends who write and who take time to mention how much they love the words of other writers, like they did about Mary Oliver, my new favorite poet!

img_4168

7 thoughts on “Mary Oliver

  1. blkdrama says:

    It’s so sad to lose inspiration… Mary Oliver has offered me lots of inspiration in my life, but what’s good for both of us, is that she has left us with so much of herself for us to dip into. She’s amazing! Kudos to Betsy for sharing her gems for you.
    Good to be back,
    Bonnie

    Like

  2. Christine says:

    I was a Mary Oliver neophyte until last week as well. And all the stories and posts about her have encouraged me to listen to the interview myself. Thank you for that link! And what a great idea to respond to the podcast! I too must try that!

    Like

  3. mgminer says:

    I listened to the podcast a second time after reading your post. There’s so much there. When asked about her spiritual sensibility, Mary said that it has made her kinder, more people oriented, more willing to grow old, more investigative of the eternities, and more content with her own answers. That’s a wonderful model to follow – I’m at the edge of needing to be willing to grow older!

    Didn’t you love how she said that poetry is as necessary as bread in the pockets of the hungry? That’s true for me!

    Like

  4. Ramona says:

    And now I’m going to pull up this podcast. I love how you made a reading notebook page. I can’t do that when I’m driving (the way I listen to most podcasts), but sometimes a second listen is worth the time so I can take notes. I’ve loved Mary Oliver’s poetry for a long time and was so sad to hear of her death.

    Like

Leave a comment