Reactions to My First Maker Faire: Part 1—From Skepticism to All In

Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 7.14.04 AM

I had the pleasure of working with the National Association for the Education of the Young Child over the past several months. Their director of Digital Content Strategy, Michael Coventry, and his assistant, Rasheia Harris took my very long blog entry about my first Maker Faire experience as a third grade teacher and made it into a 4-part blog series. Part One posted to their National Website on Friday, April 7th, just two hours before Spring Break began. Yep, I’m excited!

Once I got Rasheia’s email saying it was posted, I pulled the link up on my classroom SmartPanel and told my class, ” I have something I want to show you. I haven’t even shown Mr. Donnelly yet. I am a published blogger!” and I scrolled down so they could see: By Sally Donnelly. A few clapped. I smiled widely. I loved that I could model the importance of publishing. Writing starts in a notebook but it doesn’t have to stay there. It can be published for those in the world to read, learn, be changed.

I feel very fortunate to have my writing be on the NAEYC website, an National organization doing great work to support the learning of the young child. Here’s the link to this first part on the NAEYC website or just scroll and read below.


It was April—the fourth quarter—and as a third grade teacher at Discovery Elementary School, in Arlington, Virginia, I still had lots to do before the school year ended in June. Then the principal announced, “After testing in June, I’d like you and all the students to participate in the First Annual Discovery Elementary School Maker Faire.”

My first reaction was along the lines of “What? Another task to add to my already long to-do list at the end of the school year, when we are trying to wrap up and pack up the classroom? Really?” Then she told us we were free to create our own schedules and to choose whatever project we wanted to lead. Maybe this school requirement was going to be a lot more fun than other end-of-the year tasks.

Just like the third graders I teach, I’m happiest when I have a choice. But I still wasn’t sure how I’d find the time. With the words “choose whatever you want” in the back of my mind, I came up with an idea I wanted to integrate into the maker day: students could make pillows depicting a character from the Zoombini app we played in class. Maybe the principal had just inspired me to find the time!

What’s a Maker?

I admit, I wasn’t sure what it meant to be a maker. Fortunately, the principal had put together a Maker Support Team (the librarian, an art teacher, a gifted resource teacher, and a technology teacher) to guide us.

A maker can be any age. Students, teachers, family members, and community volunteers can all be makers. The Discovery Maker Faire would be a gathering of makers who are crafters, tinkerers, hobbyists, engineers, science club members, authors, artists, tech enthusiasts, and more. A festival celebrating invention, creativity, problem solving, and resourcefulness! Our student makers would spend time tinkering with recycled materials, collaborating, and exploring possibilities in order to solve a problem.The “loose parts” and materials might range from everyday items, like recycled fruit trays, pipe cleaners, egg cartons, and cardboard boxes, to PVC pipes, circuit boards, and light-emitting diodes (LEDs) at the high-tech end of the spectrum.

Basically, maker is a new term to describe a hands-on, playful, creative person engaged in project work. “If that’s the case,” I thought, “no problem! I’ve ALWAYS run a maker-like classroom, because hands-on learning is my mantra.” I believe children (and adults) learn by doing and learn through play. Whether teaching kindergartners or third graders, I use a workshop approach: I teach an explicit mini-lesson daily in each subject, and then I act as a guide-on-the-side. I watch the students work, and I offer guidance as they think, learn, experiment, and explain. While the state standards drive my instruction, my ultimate goal is to help students think critically for themselves, so they can live richer lives today and every day.

When I realized that maker faire was just a new label for my lifelong philosophy of project-based learning, I was a little perplexed. Why was project work being presented as something new? However, I thought back to my days as a novice teacher, sitting wide-eyed at staff meetings. I dutifully took notes to help me implement whatever new initiative was being introduced. Days later, I’d overhear veteran teachers in the faculty room say things like, “How long do you think that plan will last?” and “Isn’t that like what we did years ago, only with a new name?”

I personally vowed early in my career not to become closed minded or set in my ways. Yet, here I was about to finish my 24th year as a teacher, and I felt myself moving toward that veteran been-there-done-that mindset. However, I realized I needed to keep an open mind and keep listening.

In fact, I was really looking forward to working with my colleagues and students on the maker project.

Stay tuned for Part 2!


Resources on Making

Making and Tinkering With STEM: Solving Design Challenges With Young Children

Activity page for Making and Tinkering With STEM: Solving Design Challenges With Young Children

Now Read This: Books That Encourage Making

Making With Young Learners: An Introduction

Learning Practices of Making

Message in a Backpack: Making at Home


Sally Donnelly is a third-grade teacher at Discovery Elementary School, in Arlington, Virginia.

5 thoughts on “Reactions to My First Maker Faire: Part 1—From Skepticism to All In

  1. jarhartz says:

    Wow! What great resources and I love this definition “… tmaker is a new term to describe a hands-on, playful, creative person engaged in project work.” Congratulations on your words reaching a national audience. This movement is the perfect antidote to testing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. margaretsmn says:

    Congratulations! I’m so proud that you sent it in and pursued the publishing world. Doesn’t it feel great? Sharing with your students helps them to see that the world of publishing can be rewarding and not so daunting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lindabaie says:

    Congratulations. So many will learn from your writing about this, Sally. I have been puzzled by this ‘maker’ term too, because that’s something my school has always supported, but I realize that not everyone does. I enjoyed reading part one!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stephanie Morris says:

    Absolutely LOVE this blog post – you are such an inspiration! I think it’s really meaningful that you are so candid about how you first thought of these things as a new teacher vs. your perspective today. It’s something we all can relate to on different levels. Can’t wait to read the next three segments.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment