Change sprinkled with Routine

As 2017 starts, I focus on my OLW – Routine. I know I feel comfort when in routine. I know that discombobulated feeling that comes when change is demanded.  I thought about this as I reflected on my 2016 Christmas.

Tree was decorated in the living room,

not cut down after a drive out to the country, like those first few years.

Blue, green and white-flashing lights wrapped it and ornaments hung,

no hand-made ornaments received as the kids are both 20+ years old.

Most presents shipped via Harry and David and gift cards mailed

so not many presents to wrap and place under the tree

Christmas Eve meal cooked by me this time, included stuffed cabbage and egg nog

no Grandma’s house to visit  to eat Grandma’s stuffed cabbage because Grandma is no longer here.

A highlight was an unexpected trip into DC to view ZooLights.

We entered the zoo gate and saw this:

IMG_8301.JPG

and then this:

img_8300

and this:

IMG_8305.JPG
and then this:

IMG_8310.JPG

and I happily stood and posed with my daughter here:

img_8307

Now I plan to make a visit to ZooLights my new routine. Somehow unexpected fun helps accept the unexpected changes of the season.

 

7 thoughts on “Change sprinkled with Routine

  1. Adrienne says:

    We have zoolights in Portland, OR, too. I’ve gone a couple of times, but only when I have company for Christmas. I think that is an excellent tradition to add to your Christmas routine.

    Like

  2. franmcveigh says:

    Love the zoolights, Sally! We went to a Christmas “show” in Louisville where my grandson rode a train, saw Santa Claus,elves, and just The Twelve Days of Christmas! So much fun to create routines that blend the old and the new! (Thinking of your grandma while her “food” is a menu choice!)

    Like

Leave a comment