My Summer Reading…so far

I posted the below also to my classroom kidblog so it was written with my students as my audience. But now it is Tuesday so I thought I’d post it here, too. 

It’s summer and I have read 4 books so far!!

IMG_7346.JPG

I recommend them all for these reasons:

1. Gone Fishing, a novel in verse – If you’d like a fun, easy read, you’ll enjoy this story written in poems about one day when the main character goes fishing with his dad and sister. My favorite poem is the Fish Shape poem!

2. Raymie Nightingale by Kate DiCamillo – If you would enjoy a story written about 3 very interested girls who meet at a baton twirling class in 1975, you’ll like this story. ALL three girls have problems and together, they figure out how to deal with their problems. One reason I liked this book was because it reminded me of when I took baton twirling lessons also in 1975!! Also it is the newest book out by Kate DiCamillo, an author we spent time meeting during the school year!

3.  The Turtles of Oman – you’ll enjoy this story if you can relate to a character who does NOT want to move to another country. This book made me want to read more nonfiction books about the country of Oman and about sea turtles.

4. The War that Saved my Life – You’ll like this story if you’d like to read another book set during WWII, like the book Echo we read together. Warning – the mother of the main character is a very, very, very mean mother. But the main character is very likable and she learns to succeed as she learns how to ride a horse. After reading this novel, I also wanted to reread the picture book, The Little Ships by Louise Borden.

WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN READING??!!  Happy Summer Reading!!


NOTE about the process of my writing:  By writing this post, I came to understand the importance of audience. I found it SO easy to say something about each book as I tried to “book talk” each because I was picturing my students. I chose to mention what I knew would appeal to them and the words appeared quickly on the screen. Having a audience is powerful! I guess just as powerful as this Tuesday audience is to me, too! Thanks, TwoWritingTeachers for giving me a weekly audience.

10 thoughts on “My Summer Reading…so far

  1. Kathleen Neagle Sokolowski says:

    I love how you are blogging with your class over the summer. Anyone responding or blogging too!? I just finished The War That Saved My Life. What a great read!

    Like

  2. dianeandlynne says:

    Yes, audience is so important! I, too, pictured students listening (reading) your post. You enticed me to look into those books myself. Thanks.

    Like

  3. Erika Victor says:

    I like your book choices and have read all but The Turtles of Oman. I have had many readers love Gone Fishing. I am not sure if my third graders would like Raymie or The War (even though I loved them both I felt like slightly older kids might enjoy them more) – what do you think?

    Like

    • sallydonnelly11 says:

      I agree that older kids would like those but I personally like YA novels so I had to read them.
      And Kate’s new book I think will appeal mostly to just girls.
      I had taught a student from Oman a few years ago and did really enjoy this sweet story and do think 3rd graders will like it too.
      Gone Fishing surprised me…just lone small moment – a day fishing but SO many different kinds of poem forms used to tell it!

      Like

  4. Ramona says:

    Great post and now I have a topic for today’s post. I often come to TWT with no ideas, but after I read a few posts, I’m inspired! Thanks for today’s inspiration. I just finished Raymie Nightingale, read the War that Saved my Life in our Mock Newbery book club last year (we loved it), enjoyed Gone Fishing (I love novels-in-verse – have you read Home of the Brave?), and returned Turtles of Oman without reading it (one of many books I’ve touched and wanted to read). Time to request it again.

    Like

  5. franmccrackin says:

    You make me remember to read youth fiction (even when my job doesn’t require it!) I also love the variety of your selections- great modeling. And I appreciate your reflection about audience. Maybe, when we are stuck with our writing it is because we are not clear about our audience, or perhaps have chosen the wrong audience? I am going to ponder that.
    And finally, I second that- gratitude for SOL challenges giving us such a warm, generous audience!

    Like

  6. franmcveigh says:

    Thanks for giving me the title ELEVEN last week. It fit perfectly with Nine, Ten. Raymie Nightingale is still on the TBR list. “Catching up” seems to be taking me longer than I had anticipated!

    Love your process notes!

    Like

Leave a comment