St. Patrick’s Day Celebration w/ Aden

Sticking with the First Time/Last Time writing strategy discussed HERE yesterday, I realize that the first time I participated as a slicer was in 2014 and on St. Patrick’s Day in 2014, I blogged the recipes here for the meal I make each year for this holiday – corned beef and Hungarian Galusca (noodles with fried cabbage).

When my daughter’s work trip brought her home for a week-long visit this March, she specifically requested this meal. So, last Saturday, I spent the day with two corned beefs boiling on the stove, while I chopped and fried two batched of cabbage and mixed each with cooked wide egg noodles. Then I hosted family, including my husband’s Irish sisters and brother on Sunday to celebrate Aden’s first year and St. Patrick’s Day, a week early.

Aden is flying home to Amsterdam today but looking back at these photos, I’m feeling quite lucky to have spent time together with her this March.

Great-Nana is dressed for the holiday and Aden is sporting a hand-made outfit (thanks to Aunt Anne) with a #1 candle on the sweatshirt!
“Happy Birthday, dear Aden…” who actually turned 1 on Feb, 21, 2024. But she liked celebrating with cupcakes at my house in March!
Aden photos from one month to one year old, displayed on the mantle for the party
Party Favor Cookies for each party guest!!
Aden enjoyed leftover corned beef and galusca last Monday. This is now my computer”s screensaver photo!!

6 thoughts on “St. Patrick’s Day Celebration w/ Aden

  1. Erika says:

    Great choice for your screensaver! You really packed a lot into Aden’s week with you and got lots of bonus family time. I love the timeline of photos from one month to one year- lots of change.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mschiubookawrites says:

    Cannot love this post enough! Your use of the craft technique to process and reflect on the first time and last time works well. The pics bring us back to the present. Here’s to planning your next visit!

    Like

Leave a comment