Playtime w/ Music

For my first six years as a teacher, I taught Kindergarten. Sing-alongs, like the A-B-C Song, movement songs, like The Wheels on the Bus, and fingers-songs, like 5 Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed, were a go-to part of my day. Music magically kept the attention five-year olds. This week, thanks to Spotify, I relived songs from my kinder days, while playing with Aden.

I first searched “Raffi” on the song app and was reminded of that great song, Baby Beluga. Next, both Aden and I moved to the cues of Shake Your Sillies Out but it was Apple and Bananas that got her singing along. Her monosyllable sounds of oh and ah tried to mimic the lines of the song and once it ended, she gave it claps of approval!

In typical Spotify fashion, more and more children’s songs started playing on my iPhone without further prompting. As we played with our toys, I was reminded of old favorites, like Row, Row, Row Your Boat and If You’re Happy and You Know It. I listened to the lovely, deep voice of Elle Jenkins. And best of all, heard so many fun Seseme Street songs. We counted along with the Count. We munched cookies with Cookie Monster. We sang about rubber duckie with Ernie. But our favorite became Elmo’s Song. Of course, we added our own verse to be La-La-La-La La-La-La-La, Aden’s Song.

As you view these photos, what song are YOU singing-along with??!!

10 thoughts on “Playtime w/ Music

  1. Erika says:

    Oh, Sally, your Aden adventures have me looking forward to my one day in the future grandmothering. I loved the same songs as you with my own kids, so will happily revisit them. You will really miss Aden when she goes!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fran McCrackin says:

    What a wonderful reason to revisit all these familiar favorites! And THANKS for the photos. My favorite song (as a first grade teacher) is the Magic Penny song. “Love is something, if you give it away… you end up having more.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. wordancerblog says:

    I know all those songs. I was a preschool teacher in the 80’s! Thanks for reminding me! The best way to a toddler’s heart is through her heart. Did Aden get used to her shoes? Is their a song for that.

    Like

  4. mschiubookawrites says:

    If you’re happy and you know it, clap your hands! Your slices always engage the reader with a connection question. The musical notes mentioned transported me back to those days with my son. Thank you for that!

    Like

Leave a comment