I Spy in Amsterdam

How many different kinds of transprotation do you spy from these Amsterdam photos?

When my husband and I arrived in Amsterdam, we took a taxi to our AirB&B in a part of the city called Jordaan, between the center of town to the east and when my daughter lives in Bos en Lommer to the west. We never considered renting a car as it is a walkable city and has public transportation. I’ve learned lots about being a pedestrican in this city this week.

  1. Stay alert! As I head outside each day, I ensure I am walking in the part of the sidewalk meant for pedestrians. This city also has a bike lane, a car lane and on some streets, a bus lane and a tram lane. When crossing a street, I look left and right a few times to ensure I can cross without encountering a biker, a car or van, or the tram. (So different from strolling in my neighborhood at home!)
  2. When waiting for the bus (like the #21 I take to visit my granddaughter), as it approaches the bus stop, be sure to give a wave to show you want it to stop and pick you up. I learned this the hard way the first time taking the bus! My smile at seeing the long blue double bus approaching quickly frowned as it just zipped passed without stopping. Luckily, the buses run every 7 minutes. (So different from the bus stop in my neighborhood. If the driver sees a person waiting, they stop.)
  3. People of all ages and all sizes ride using wheels and the water. Before this trip, I heard there was a bike culture in this country. WOW! There really is. Bikes of all sizes with a variety of clever basket-types abound. Unlike Venice, cars move on the streets and canal bridges, too. Most of the cars are electric. Many are super-small. So many people on the move! (The same as in my neighborhood but the medium-size gas-guzzling car rules back home.)

This week, I am happy to be a pedestrian in a new city. I’ll stay alert. I’ll wave down my bus. I don’t think I’ll give biking a try. Instead, I’ll continue to spy all the different, unique, wheeled vehicles passing me by.

9 thoughts on “I Spy in Amsterdam

  1. kimhaynesjohnson says:

    What a fun slice! Yes, I started counting and got to 6 different forms of transportation that I could see, including via foot, in that one picture. So many ways to get from place to place! I love your slice today, and the #1 Be Alert can never be underrated – when you were talking about the bike lanes in a previous post, I had flashbacks to having to develop a whole new level of alert awareness when I was in Germany in 2019. We don’t have that in the country where I live, just the threat of a the occasional wayward goat or donkey running in its own lane, so that took growing some new antennae for me. I’m so glad you are having fun and loving the Amsterdam culture – and new grandparenthood!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glenda Funk says:

    I am fascinated by city transportation and wrote about how we traveled while in Thailand. I found Amsterdam anxiety-inducing. I was grazed by a biker while I stood on the curb at a museum. My husband grabbed my arm to keep me from falling into the traffic. I loved the canal. We didn’t take the bus anywhere. We stayed in a boutique hotel near major attractions. I’d like to go back now thst I know what to expect. We were there right after my cataract surgeries when I was having a horrible time w: my vision.

    Like

  3. Haley Domin says:

    How fun! I visited here when I studied abroad in college and it was so pretty! I loved the city and its style. I hope you are enjoying it! Make sure you get a stroopwafel or some fries!

    Like

  4. Fran McCrackin says:

    Very cute to start out with the “I Spy” idea and photos! Nice reflection on getting to know a new place, how to flag the bus and avoid getting run over! You also write with an attitude of appreciation which is delightful to read.

    Like

Leave a comment