What will my granddaughter’s birth date be?


I sent my daughter this text on February 2nd:

Then she replied and reminded me that in Amsterdam, dates are written DD/MM/YR so the first Friday of February would be written 3-2-23, Fun but not quite as fun as the USA way to document that day. Needless to say, my first granddaughter decided that her current “room” was still a fine place to rest and she did not make an appearance on 3-2 / 2-3.

On the 2nd Friday of February, as it was turning 6pm in Virginia and midnight in Amsterdam, I sent this text:

My daughter replied: “Still just hanging out” and then she requested that when I do come for my visit during the first week in March, would I also bring along some Girl Scout cookies. Preferably Thin Mints, Samoas, and Tagalongs. Again, my granddaughter did not make an appearance on this double number date. 

Yesterday, I sent a text that read:

And my daughter replied how she is still waiting patiently (or trying to be patient!).
For the last 9 months, 14-02-23 has been the projected date of her baby’s arrival.
That date is TODAY!!

Yet, my graddaughter will decide.
And then a date will be written.
And then my daughter’s and son-in-law’s worldwill NEVER be the same.
And then my world will NEVER be the same.

Do you have a favorite day? date?

12 thoughts on “What will my granddaughter’s birth date be?

  1. margaretsmn says:

    We’ve played this game many times! When I was pregnant for my first daughter, she was due on Valentine’s Day. She didn’t even make it to my husband’s birthday on the 21st. She hung out until the 24th! She’s always been headstrong and she wanted her very own date. My youngest daughter was born in 1990 in September. Due on 9/2/90, she skipped right over 9/9/90 and came on 9/14/90. But her daughter, June, managed to be born on the date we were all hoping for, her great grandfather’s birthdate, solstice day December 21st at 12:30 AM: 12/21/22 In the long run, it doesn’t matter. But it is fun to play the guessing game. I pray for a safe arrival.

    Like

  2. kimhaynesjohnson says:

    Sally, what fun you share in such sweet text exchanges with your daughter. I know you are over the moon excited about your new granddaughter. You’re right – the world will never be the same. New parents who never knew they were capable of feeling such love get an awakening. Grandparents do, too! I’m so happy for you. I have no favorite date – – I’m just glad to be here to live each moment.

    Like

  3. Denise Krebs says:

    Sally, great post! Congratulations on that sweet granddaughter almost ready to come! I don’t think your daughter would want to wait, but 2-3-23 (European style) would be a great birthday. But that’s more than two weeks away!

    Last summer I did something similar as my daughter was ready to have here baby. “Today would be a good birthdate,” I suggested, several times.

    Grandparenting is the best.

    Like

  4. Fran McCrackin says:

    I am always intrigued how you enjoy numbers and dates, as my mind doesn’t go there. But after I thought about your piece this morning, my take-away is how we find all the little reasons we can, to text and connect! I love seeing your texts with the emoji pictures and the heart responses, and how they tell a story of love (though ostensibly about numbers!)

    Like

  5. Stacey Shubitz says:

    My daughter has a birthday that rolls off the tongue since it’s an exemplary sequence of numbers. My son, on the other hand, has one that always gives me pause.
    She’ll be here when it’s right. But having a fun birthday to recite at every opportunity would be fun too.

    Like

  6. onathought says:

    This is so exciting! I love that you are finding so many great date possibilities… and the most special thing about the date that they are born will be …. That they are finally here!

    Like

  7. Joanne Goodwin says:

    Can’t wait to hear about your sweet granddaughter’s arrival!!

    Sent from my iPad

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

    <

    blockquote type=”cite”>

    Like

  8. Fran Haley says:

    Such a fun post, anticipating your granddaughter’s birth! I once read that the universe is made of numbers – there’s certainly something mystical about them and how they line up. By now I expect your granddaughter has arrived – best wishes to you all in these precious days!

    Like

Leave a comment