Right Now I Am

NOTE: I am using this structure which I learned from Terje when she gave it a try HERE.
In honor of her birthday today, which I read about HERE, I will give it a try today.
Happy Birthday, Terje (and also a Happy Birthday to my husband)!

Right now I am...

:: sitting in my living room able to look out of the 6-windowed corner to view the mostly bare branches pinned against the the blue-gray canvas painting the morning sky

:: wondering if the fox or bunny or just squirrels will enter my viewshed along with the many birds passing through

:: glancing at the weather app showing 40 degrees with a windchill making it feel 32

:: savouring the warmth of my sweater and the comfort of my upholstered chair

:: avoiding opening my school backpack which holds post-assessments demarding to be scored followed by a few hours of planning for the next unit.

:: counting down the days until Spring Break (10-school days) and then the weeks until my daughter’s wedding (5)

:: hoping to be productive today so the upcoming week is smooth

:: hearing the sound of the coffee grind holder banging as it is emptied followed by the water running to fill the machine. My husband is in the kitchen making his daily pot of coffee.

:: planning to visit the Farmers Market now so tonight I can cook a yummy salmon dinner as a birthday treat

:: crafting a slice using a structure shared by another slicer which is making it a little easier for me

:: appreciating all the writers I have met through this writing challenge, most only through clicking their link like Terje and others who I am able to meet in person but feel much more connected because I read their slices.

Where are you, right now?

15 thoughts on “ Right Now I Am

  1. Beth Sanderson says:

    I love the structure of your slice today. I can see you in your airy living room waiting for the fox or bunny to come into view. I too am sitting before a big picture window writing and working. Your Sunday plans are purposeful. Our hubbies share a birthday…wish Brian a happy day!

    Like

  2. Annalee says:

    Now this is a LOVELY slice if I’ve ever read one. Such simple structure let’s the reader understand what you are currently doing and allows them to see into the nature of who you are. We have all avoided that teacher bag with assessments to grade on the weekend, right?! I appreciate this post so much and I may also use this structure in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mschiubookawrites says:

    A wonderful use of this structure. I really liked how you connected it to another slicer’s post (which I coincidentally just read) in not only form, but content. Happy birthday to your husband, and know that I too am counting down the days to our much needed break.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Terje says:

    Your slice is a sweet birthday present to me. Happy Birthday to your husband! I hope you’ll see them all – a fox, bunnies and squirrels. The five weeks to the wedding will go quickly. So exciting.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Fran McCrackin says:

    All those verbs… my favorites are wondering, savoring and avoiding! We should all write using those! Seriously, what a lovely “slice.” It sits in the present but looks to the future. And your photo is so beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. amyjuengst says:

    Between you and Meg, I have my next post idea. Thank you for sharing this structure to help me get me through these last few days. I love the image of the beautiful light streaming through your windows!!

    Like

  7. Erika says:

    This is a format I really like- it leaves so much space to share. We have the same spring break! I cannot imagine how you are containing your excitement over your daughter’s wedding!

    Like

Leave a comment