Remembering a fieldtrip

Maybe it is because I married an architect but I realize I am the kind of person who notices and appreciates my built environment. Maybe this is why I prefer cities to rural farmland. When planning to visit a new city, I research the interesting buildings I’ll get to see before restaurants or shops to visit. I realize buildings are important to me.

Maybe this is why my favorite school fieldtrip was to the National Buidling Museum in DC for their Community Buidling Fieldtrip. Weeks before, I asked my students to save and bring in empty toilet paper and paper towel rolls, old shoe boxes and empty yogurt containers. I collected all their donations into a large plastic bag and brought it with us, as directed by the fieldtrip docent.

First, we were greeted outside to hear fun facts about the fascade of this large, red brick building filling an entire city block. I’d watch my 3-feet tall students lean their heads back and looked up to notice the figures on the buidling’s exterior just above the first floor windows. Encircling the entire city block building, the civil war soldiers depicted on the building’s frieze appeared to be marching. And the march continues all the way around the entire buidling!

Then we entered and I’d watch their surprised faces as they stood in the open artium.

Yep….corinthian columns – 75 ft tall and 8ft in diameter!

But the best was yet to come! Our docent led us to the 2-floor classroom and our work began. My students were task with designing a community. On the floor was a massive tarp of green, blue and black and gray outlining open green space, a river and some roads. Students spent the next hour making. Then we sat around the tarp and each explained what they designed and decided where in the city they wanted their building to go and placed it on the tarp. Soon the empty tarp became our planned city with homes, office buidlings, a drug store, a grocery store, a factory, an apartment building, a pizza restaurant and a school.

Maybe this is why images like this sadden me just as much as seeing the people of Ukraine walking to Poland to escape the destruction caused by Putin.

11 thoughts on “Remembering a fieldtrip

  1. Erika says:

    I am a city lover too and love to hear the history behind the architecture. I have been to that museum, but not to the “building site”. It is always hard to see the destruction of war:(

    Like

  2. kimhaynesjohnson says:

    I love a beautiful city – and I love taking pictures of buildings, especially at certain times of the day like when the sun is rising behind a facade of a building. This is one of the reasons I love to travel so much. We live in rural farmland – the peaceful solitude and aloneness of space appeals to my inner introvert. But the allure of buildings and cities and the people who live there fascinate me and keep me planning the next trip. I love seeing all the ways people live.

    Like

  3. Anita Ferreri says:

    I love a good museum and seeing the collections of – everything possible. So, I was totally enjoying your post of the field trip. Thus, I was, at first, stunned by your connection with Ukraine. Yet, it really is so true that the losses there include so many lives and so much of their story as a nation and a people. The situation makes me scared and feel sick.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. irishdaybreak says:

    Just wow! First, I love the field trip What a fascinating adventure for your class I also love the architecture of buildings and I was myself thinking about Ukraine as I read this, but then your final picture came as a dramatic surprise here- really powerful ending.

    Like

  5. wordjourneysite says:

    What a great field trip where the kids have an opportunity to build and transform as you describe: “Soon the empty tarp became our planned city with homes, office buildings, a drug store, a grocery store, a factory, an apartment building, a pizza restaurant and a school.” All buildings we hope to see in our city.
    Then came the photo at the end, the city destroyed…

    Like

  6. amyjuengst says:

    The Buidling Museum was my favorite museum to take my kids. Cindy, yes, I remember the Lego room, too. So cool! Sally, I enjoyed this post so much and appreciate your focus on a city buildings as an essential part of exploring. I need to have you by my side for my next city tour so you can guide my eye — help me notice the structural history.

    Like

  7. Fran McCrackin says:

    I’m not sure what to add to the great comments. Except that just as you appreciate buildings (and the thought, consideration and effort that goes into them), so your field trip started your young students on that process. Maybe they will be adults who refuse to destroy.

    Like

Leave a comment