Indie Bookstores Only

I have not one but two Barnes and Nobles within a few miles of my house. But I make it a point to drive the seven miles into DC to visit the independent bookstore, Politics and Prose for all my bookstore shopping. Even when I hyperlink a book as a blogger, I now hyperlink it to their website. I’ll admit that I still use Amazon to place an e-book on my kindle. And I use Amazon to search to learn about a book. But I value the neighhood bookstore and I would be so sad if it suddenly wasn’t there. So I make it a point to give them my business, even if it means a little longer drive and a little more effort.

Sunday I wanted to get a gift for my daughter’s friend who just moved to DC. For this purchase, I simply went to the help desk and asked. In minutes, the knowledgeable employee directed me to the section of books all about DC. I grabbed one arranged as neighborhood walking tours and another subtitled Touring the Neighborhoods One Bite and Libation at a Time. I could have just headed immediately to the cashier but instead, I headed down the stairs to children’s section of the bookstore. I didn’t need any partiular children’s books but since I was already here, I had to take a peek.

My eyes scanned the displays – one filled with books about women leaders in honor of March as Women’s month. Another filled with books about Spring. On the new picture book diplay, I saw a book I had read about soon to be published. “Great! It’s out,” I thought and I grabbed it. Finally, I perused the new novel display and saw Sharon Creech’s One Time. I was not aware she had a new book out but I love everything by this author so I grabbed it, too. Now I headed to the checkout with these four books. Two I had planned to get, two not. All would make the rest of my Sunday afternoon more enjoyable.

Where do you shop for books?


Link to finding an Indie Bookstore near you
Link to Politics and Prose

7 thoughts on “Indie Bookstores Only

  1. Beth Sanderson says:

    Oh I do love independent bookstores! Politics and Prose is a favorite. Their children’s section is so well curated — I always find something new. When my family travels, we always scope out the local bookstore scene and don’t leave town without a visit. A few of my favorites: Daunt Books for Travellers (London); Parnassus Books in Nashville (owned by Ann Patchett), Unabridged (Chicago), Books of Wonder (Manhattan), Books are Magic (Brooklyn), McLean & Eakin (Petoskey, MI), Powells Books (Portland). Just thinking about these bookstores makes me smile. Thanks for the post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ms Victor Reads says:

    I knew from your title what store this would be about and I am soooo grateful that you took me there in once upon a time time (before Covid). I need a store like that in my neighborhood! I actually live across the street from a bookstore and I thought that would be wonderful, but they have very limited stock and will not order books for me (I should insist on talking to the owner one day i think). What a great store to have nearish!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jarhartz says:

    This place sounds magical. I wish I had such a place only 7 miles from home. I’m always looking for one in my area but they much further away. Los Angeles is so sprawling that it makes sense. Thanks so much for the link. Next time I’m in DC, and I hope it’s soon, I’ll check this out. Funny, I travel across the country for a book store before an hour’s drive in Los Angeles. Hmm.

    Like

    • sallydonnelly11 says:

      So funny that you might step into this DC store before a drive into LA. Even though it is just miles, it always takes 30 minutes to get there due to traffic but so what. I just decided I’d add the drive because I want them to keep thriving! It might be worth the drive to LA!!

      Like

  4. Anne Donnelly says:

    Don’t forget One More Page in Falls Church !! Only 2 miles, you could probably even walk there 😉 Morgan knows some of the employees, and they have had great social media engagement during the pandemic.

    Like

Leave a comment