Fast Food Breakfast

6:24am
I’m tired.
I want that hour back.
I want the morning darkness to end.
I want the sky to be shades of pinks and blues RIGHT NOW.
I want to see the sun before heading inside to work all day in the basement classroom.

I’m tired.
I want someone to take my order at McDonalds.
All I want is an oatmeal and an ice tea.
Can’t find it on the “fast and &” kiosk.
Touch, touch touch.
There it is.
Wait.
How did I order and pay for 2 of each?
Take a table tent? Where? Oh, there?

6:32
Wait,
Now they are taking orders at the cash register?
Now the iced tea containers are rolled out to the beverage bar?
Next time, I’m arriving after 6:30am.
Too early for me to be a kiosk-ordering-kind-of-person.
I’m tired.

15 thoughts on “Fast Food Breakfast

  1. dianeandlynne says:

    I feel your pain. I hated getting up before light and don’t understand the usefulness of daylight savings time.
    I love “I’m tired” and the progress of your kiosk experience. Excellent use of repetition, Sally. Hope you enjoyed your breakfast.

    Like

  2. mrsbrunowrites says:

    I enjoyed the repetition and the humor of your piece. The idea of arriving later so that things go faster is SO true in so much of what we do, right?! The use of “I’m tired” has multiple meanings throughout and I love your use of it.

    Like

  3. Lanny Ball says:

    Oh man, can I identify with that line, “I’m tired “! Your piece captures that early morning fog that is caused by the “spring forward” nightmare that I dread during this part of the year ! Well done 🙂

    Like

  4. MegMcCormick says:

    I love your internal monologue and the way you portrayed how tired you were while interacting with the kiosk. I really like the idea of focusing on a small chunk of time- I will try this technique in the future.

    Like

Leave a comment