My Summer Plan!

Over Memorial Day weekend, I started making my Summer Plan! First stop was to Staples to buy this new planner.IMG_1749

I still use a paper calendar planner even though electronic ones are more the norm for others. After adding curriculum writing (1 week in June), trip to KY with my mom (one week in July) and TRCWP Writing Institute (1 week in August), I see I still have 5 weeks to myself!

Here’s my plan:
1. VIRTUAL BOOK CLUB  I created this padlet and shared it with others I’ve met here on this blog and at TCRWP. For 2 weeks in July, I will set a reading goal using the TCRWP Learning Progressions and then read this book with my goals in mind.

Screen Shot 2018-05-29 at 9.57.25 AM

Then I’ll post my thinking onto the google docs posted to the padlet. I’m excited to read in the company of other smart readers around the globe.

If YOU are interested, join me!!
Information is on the padlet. ALL are wlecome!

2. Writing Work: I spent this year teaching Reading 6 so most of my writing was about reading. This summer, I plan to write 3 pieces: a narrative, an opinion and an information piece. I am taking home the Grade 6 Units of Study for Teaching Writing resource books and plan to daily read a mini-lesson and then write. With a daily dose of writing workshop, I know I can make up for all the writing I didn’t do during the school year. (I also got accepted into the TCRWP AUGUST WRITING INSTITUTE!! Can’t wait to arrive and be immersed in everything writing for a week!!)

3. Movement: I plan to daily MOVE – a walk, a visit to the air conditioned gym or a swim. I plan to not go to bed each night this summer unless I have done some kind of movement. During the school year, I walk a mile to work so it’s important to me to keep up my habit of exercise this summer, too.

I also hope to enjoy time cooking, gardening, cleaning out the basement and visiting with family and friends. Writing down my plan is getting me excited for June, July and August!!

Do YOU have a Summer Plan?

 

4 thoughts on “My Summer Plan!

  1. elsie says:

    Smart lady to make a plan for your time off, otherwise the days will seem to evaporate and you will be wondering what you did with your time off. No, I don’t really have a plan, yet. 🙂

    Like

  2. mbhmaine says:

    Planning for summer is such fun, though I like to leave some unplanned stretches intact as well. I love the idea of open time, full of choice, spilling out before me! Ahhhhh!

    Like

  3. amyjuengst says:

    You are AMAZING! Thanks for sharing your goals and Padlet!! I haven’t set my summer goals yet but you’ve inspired me to — hopefully by June 15th.

    On Tue, May 29, 2018 at 10:26 AM, Writing Stories by Sally wrote:

    > sallydonnelly11 posted: “Over Memorial Day weekend, I started making my > Summer Plan! First stop was to Staples to buy this new planner. I still use > a paper calendar planner even though electronic ones are more the norm for > others. After adding curriculum writing (1 week in June)” >

    Like

Leave a comment