Five Years From Now…

I glanced at the list of prompts I gathered last month to use if I get stuck. I see “Five years from now, I will be…”

In five years, I’ll be 59.

I sat with my sister at lunch yesterday who is 59 now and she was telling me about her plans for celebrating her August birthday. Yet, she hesitated to say that word that means the number that comes after 59 out loud. “I can’t believe I’m going to be sixty?” she said painfully.

When I was only 25, my father passed away suddenly from a heart attack actually on my 25th birthday. He was 55. The age 55 became an age for me that seemed so far off in the distance. An age to me that meant a good, long life. An age to mean that meant a dying age. Yet, that is my number next year. “Really?” I think.

There’s a part of me that struggles to see beyond double 5s. Maybe I’ll still be teaching. Maybe our family will grow to include a significant other. Maybe they will grow and I’ll have a grand baby to read Silly Sally to. Lots of maybes…

For now, I’m just going to try to make the most of each day because I know from experience that five years from now isn’t always a given.

8 thoughts on “Five Years From Now…

  1. margaretsmn says:

    I counted on my fingers and realized that I’ll be 61 in five years. My husband is 5 years older than me, so I look at him and think it’s not so bad. Of course, he’s a runner and is extremely fit. I visited a friend who is dying of cancer. She lives each day as it comes, grateful to still be alive. That is how we should live each day, don’t you think?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cindaroo42 says:

    I agree- we have to live in the present and not worry so much about getting older- easier said than done though, right? The best part is that you can do whatever you want 5 years from now! Keep dreaming!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ms Victor Reads says:

    5 years from now has always felt hard to project. When principals have asked it of me in the past I always admitted that I saw myself remaining in the classroom (even though sometimes I worry that people judge those of us who stay in the classroom as unambitious I do not feel that way at all). Aside from that, it is hard to imagine where I might be living in 5 years!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. franmccrackin says:

    Ah, the significance we give numbers. I like how you express the power they have over our thinking, with the lines “she hesitated to say that word that means the number that comes after 59 out loud” and ” part of me that struggles to see beyond double 5s.”
    My take-away from your piece is – just as your father’s early death (on your birthday- oh, I didn’t know that)- reminds us to use each day without taking it for granted, so also your family pulls you into the future. My favorite part of your slice is anticipating significant others joining the family and maybe even a grandchild! (BTW, love the specific detail of which book you want to read to this child- really adds heart to the piece.)

    Liked by 2 people

  5. mschiubookawrites says:

    As always, you offer such insight in your slices. This was beautifully crafted, weaving details from your past, present and future. The line that most resonated is “For now, I’m just going to try to make the most of each day because I know from experience that five years from now isn’t always a given.” So very true.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. mgminer says:

    Love this – it’s all about perspective, awareness, and appreciation of the blessings of the day. Maybe you could give your sister Suddenly Sixty by Judith Viorst.

    Like

Leave a comment