Positive Peer Pressure!

As I scrolled through my twitter feed this morning, I read this:

IMG_34C307256722-1

I feel like a superstar after spending because teacher Tammy Stoker bravely presented with me at the VSRA conference on Thursday.

I feel like a superstar after listening to an inspiring Keynote and a second session presentation by Jen Serravallo. She helped me remember how reading is so many skills and how as teachers, we can assess and prioritize what skill to strengthen next, using a her hierarchy chart:

IMG_0816

Plus, at a later session in the day about using technology in the classroom, Jen sat down right next to me!! We supported each other as the presenter nudged us to share our thinking about a book using two technologies: chatterpix and flipgrid. I love how Jen spent time being a participant in the conference as well as a presenter! She models being a life-long learner well.

I feel like a superstar after the session presentation by Harvey “Smokey” Daniels . This was my first time hearing him speak and I loved his positivity and sense of humor. He also generously shares his presentations here. He got me to closely read Social Studies and Science images and participate in a discussion. He used simple guiding questions:
What do you notice?
What do you want to talk about?
If you could talk to person in image, what might you ask?
What might you hear or smell if you were in the image?
Describe….  Use an SAT word!
Can you suggest a title?
And he reminded us:  “When images are vividly attached, learning happens.”

I feel like a superstar after my Saturday morning Teacher Research Club meeting. Sitting from 7:30-9:30am on a Saturday at a Starbucks and sharing our research question and the data we are collecting, I left feeling energized. My colleagues care so much about learning that their inquiry is pushing me in a positive way to work even harder with my students. Love POSITIVE PEER PRESSURE!!

Who makes YOU feel like a superstar?
Where do YOU go to feel the power of positive peer pressure?

6 thoughts on “Positive Peer Pressure!

  1. dianeandlynne says:

    The power of positive peer pressure — it invigorates and moves us to be more. Feel like a super star and you become a super star. So glad you had this amazing experience. Your post today is inspiring, and I like its structure, too. Thanks for posting the tweet!

    Like

  2. wordjourneysite says:

    I like all the ways you’ve felt like a superstar these past few days. It’s so refreshing to think that we can all feel like superstars in our lives if we open ourselves up to the possibility.
    (Glad you liked Smokey Daniels – he has a lot of positive energy.)

    Like

Leave a comment