Problem-solving

I’ve been thinking about the kind of problem-solver I am. Teaching reading in 3rd grade and using the Units of Study for Teaching Reading is making me ponder this topic based on their anchor chart:

Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 9.41.35 PM

I do think at times, I have been each of these kind of problem-solvers. But the first bullet point seems to be one I favor most. I don’t like drama. I don’t like unfairness. I don’t like negativity. When it occurs, I avoid.

I admire the woman I learned about today when I accompanied my class to their Spanish class. She solved problems head on and was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1992 for her efforts. Her name is Rigoberta Menchu and her story can be read HERE. I was inspired by this woman. I wonder why I didn’t know of her already? In 1992, I was 29 years old and had a newborn and a three year old. I probably never took time to read the newspaper then. (I guess I was dealing with my own problems head on!)

I do find myself asking for help, bullet point #3. I’ll talk to family. I’ll talk to friends. I’ll read books. All will share thoughts on the topic. I seek validation in the way I plan to solve a problem. It feels better if someone else tells me my way of solving “it” is a good idea.

This weekend, a friend offered me advise. My friend said, “Life is like a revolving door. The opening will reveal itself. Just be patient.” I guess that is another way of saying the fourth and final bullet point.

So many ways to address a problem.
Which is your go-to way for solving a problem?

4 thoughts on “Problem-solving

  1. jarhartz says:

    This chart is something to ponder. The choices we make around problems does reveal our character. (What an amazing chart to use with kiddos.) The wise ones among us would say, different situations warrant different approaches. For me, I fluctuate between #1 and #2 and then tell myself I should have done more of #3 and #4.

    And, yes, I’m on my way to NYC on the 18th! Would love to see you! Bookshop perhaps?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fran Haley says:

    I am a face-it-head-on-look-it-in-the-eye-call-it-for-what-it-is problem solver. That would be #2! Love the chart and the thinking behind it, which can so expand the horizons for students, just knowing how many ways problems can be dealt with. I enjoyed this.

    Like

Leave a comment