Another Saturday Funeral

Saturday I found myself at a funeral. Another, as I wrote about attending the funeral for the mother of another Slicer HERE. This Saturday it is to celebrate the life of a man that was a good friend to my parents. I sat in the church and was taken back to another time – growing up during the 70s and 80s. Thanks to my parents and this man, I remember so much laughter and so many fun times during the summer at our community pool (a pool I can proudly say came to be because my father thought the neighborhood needed a pool and in the 1960s, such an idea from a man and a handful of neighbors could build a community pool, but that’s another slice).

My memories were summer memories. This man always wore a big smile and told jokes. He got all us kids laughing and cheering as he announced the events on Saturdays during the swim meets. I sat and laughed with tears as his son and daughter retold some of his antics from all those years ago.

I also learned that when he was not entertaining us at the pool, he was a writer. Funny how as a kid, you don’t really know what the jobs of the adults around you are, unless that adult is your teacher. So I learned on Saturday that this funny man from my childhood helped launched Southern Living magazine. And he was part of a travel writing writers group. His son stood at the church pulpit and recalled that his dad was home every night for dinner. Then after dinner, he went to his study and worked some more from home and told us that this was the sound he heard  each night as he fell asleep. His son played the sound of a travel writer in the ’70s and 80s on his iPhone for us to hear.  A perfect sound to play at the funeral for this funny man who spent his life as a writer.

2 thoughts on “Another Saturday Funeral

  1. jarhartz says:

    What a wonderful celebration of an adult in your childhood. It is funny how children see adults only as they contribute to their life. Perhaps that’s all true at all stages. What you know is what touches you. That said, we are lucky to grow up and find more in the people who helped us along the way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

