SOL 17 – Planning out my writing work

In two weeks and a day, I start my 4th March SOL Writing Challenged hosted by the TwoWritingTeachers.

I recall my first year.  I wasn’t sure if I’d have enough to write about for 31 straight days, so I planned by looking through old notebooks. I reread my writing and dogeared some pages. I figured if I was in a pinch, I could add one of these one day as my blog entry.

I recall a more relaxed feeling during year two. I’d done this and now knew how many ideas I’d get by reading three entries a day in order to leave comments. I wasn’t worry and did not do any planning. Last year, my third year, was the same.

But this year, a writing friend inspired me and I am back to planning. I was at my last Writing Club meeting. 3 friends and I meet once a month. We write for about 20-30 minutes and then read-aloud our writing to get feedback. Before starting to write, I stated how I planned to write about my weekend. This friend said, “I  plan to work on my sentences in my travel piece.” Then she showed us a writing book she was reading and specifically the chapter on short and long sentences. Her response struck me. As a writing teacher, I frequently ask students, “What are you working on as a writer?” (thanks to Carl Anderson!) and instead of mentioning a craft move, they say things like, “I’m writing about my weekend.” Then I try to coach them to think about what they are doing as a writer while writing about their weekend. My friend worked on her writing that day, specifically at the sentence level.  Recalling this, I decided this weekend that I, too, would use the March writing challenge as a month to work on my writing.

It helps that I have three new books filled with lessons for me to try. I sat Saturday and paged through them with post-its in hand, 31 post-its to be exact. As I saw a prompt or a lesson that interested me, I placed a post-it on that page of the book.

Happy with my plan, I posted it to twitter like this:

fullsizerender-4

A follower asked if I’d share and I realized I could easily share my list by making a Padlet, my new favorite digital tool. Here’s the link

Feel free to look and even add YOUR plan or an idea or two or 31.
Feel free to share with other Slicers.

If new to padlet, here’s what my inspiration Page looks like:

Made with Padlet

Big thank you to Kathleen Sokolowski who encouraged me to share digitally!

Now with lessons in hand to guide my work, this week I plan to reread LOTS of my writing posts and pick a few I’d like to revise using some of these 31 ideas. So glad I still have two weeks and a day to plan!

What is YOUR plan for this year’s SOL Writing Challenge??

Also, Happy Valentine’s Day – Can you tell writing is something I love?!!

8 thoughts on “SOL 17 – Planning out my writing work

  1. Christine says:

    Sally, Love your post. I will begin my second year on the March challenge and have begun thinking about making a plan. Your padlet seems like a great place to start. I may have to create one as well. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. franmcveigh says:

    Sally,
    I “overplanned” Year 1 of SOLSC because I was so afraid that I would run out of steam. I’m not remembering Year 2 but I did just find my sticky note plan for Year 3. I love this padlet plan idea of yours and I will return for more ideas!

    Thanks for so many ideas!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ramona says:

    I love the focus of using SOL to try out some new craft moves. What a gift you’ve given us by sharing your pallet. Thanks so much! And your list from Jen’s new book makes me want to buy it. (Even though, as a retired teacher, I keep trying to cut back on buying PD books.)

    Like

  4. Stacey Shubitz says:

    As one of the people co-hosting this challenge, I’m more nervous this year than ever. Having an infant in the house makes me wonder if I’m going to be able to write — like really write — daily for 31 days. Perhaps a plan would be useful for me too!

    Like

  5. franmccrackin says:

    So glad you wrote about this. I don’t know if I will write as much as you do about teaching writing, but I am reminded to come up with some kind of plan. 31 pieces is substantial- if it is a little directed, it can add up to something! At least a first rough draft of part of something 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

