Book Friends are the best!

I just finished reading Some Writer by Melissa Sweet.

Why this book? Because I have friends that are readers and they give me suggestions, tell me about books, and even hand me books.

One place I get suggestions is on my twitter feed. Most people here, I have never met but I do consider them my friends and value their suggestions. So when I saw this tweet by The Nerdy Bookclub, I took note.

screen-shot-2016-10-08-at-6-52-30-am

Then I saw this post by Catherine Flynn. It was her It’s Monday, What Are You Reading (#IMWAYR) post. CLICK HERE. Both Catherine and I blog and met first through blogging within the TwoWritingTeachers March blog challenge. Then this summer, we met in person as we learned together at the Summer Reading Institute at TCRWP. Her review pushed me to really want to read this book.

Then my friend and our school librarian, John Re,  really made it happen! As I was leaving the school library last Friday, he asked, “Are you a Charlotte’s Web fan?”

“Of course. Great book!”

“Then you might like this biography.” And there it was, in his hand.

“I do want it! It’s on my list to read. Can I check it out?”

“Here, take it.” And I did, smiling that all my friends, those online and in my school help me to keep reading. Then each night after dinner, I read about the life of the writer, E.B. White.

I highly recommend YOU reading this book, too.
Why? Because friends suggest good books to read to other friends!

But what should I read next?
Any suggestions, my friends?!!

 

8 thoughts on “Book Friends are the best!

  1. margaretsmn says:

    I am looking forward to this book. I’m hoping to get a copy at NCTE. Will you be there? Have you read Nine, Ten yet? I loved it. Happy Reading!

    Like

  2. jarhartz says:

    The phrase “some pig” makes me smile because it makes me think of one of my all time favorite books. You and Catherine, some of my all-time favorite teacher, blogger, book-recommender people. make me smile. Thank you for this. Some Writer is now on my list!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Adrienne says:

    There’s nothing like a walk on a beautiful Fall day. I was canvassing for a ballot measure Oregonians will vote on in November. I was dreading it, but I got to be outside in a crisp Fall afternoon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

