Lessons of Field Day

School is almost out – next Friday, June 24th is the last day – and yesterday was Field Day!

Our PE teachers sported BRIGHT yellow shirts with the words Inaugural Field Day at Discovery printed on the front below Olympic rings to remind us of this 1st event ever at our new school and our fun Olympic theme.

My grade represented the continent of Africa and my students picked Djibouti to represent. Personally, this allowed me to learn of a county I knew NOTHING about! While researching, I read the English translation of their national anthem:

Arise with strength! For we have raised our flag,

The flag which has cost us dear

With extremes of thirst and pain.

Our flag, whose colours are the everlasting green of the earth,

The blue of the sky, and white, the colour of peace;

And in the centre the red star of blood.

Oh flag of ours, what a glorious sight!

Yesterday, my students sported the four colors of this flag as we proudly represented this African country.

600px-Flag_of_Djibouti.svg

I am most proud and celebrate today the kindness and team spirit of my students. During Field Day, my class traveled from station to station, working cooperatively to complete the fun 18 tasks spread out across our school field and gym. At one point, the white, green and blue teams had finished their relay but the red team struggled to toss the ring successfully so their relay was nowhere near done. Without prompting, the three done teams started chanting “Go ___, Go ____”…inserting their classmate’s name on the red team trying to toss the ring, offering encouragement for them to advance their relay. This small moment, this choice to encourage and offer support…”what a glorious sight!”

I find the news of this week in  the world and USA so depressing, so, so depressing. Yet, today I celebrate my 3rd graders having fun, offering encouragement, wearing the colors of peace, earth, sky and even a little red. Their spirit and the words of an anthem from a country I knew nothing about before this Field Day offer me hope. I am realizing that I can only truly appreciate peace when I have the opportunity to reflect on adversity and then continue on.

 

10 thoughts on “Lessons of Field Day

  1. Linda Baie says:

    It sounds as if your field day was a marvelous time of collaboration and team spirit. I love that the classes chose a country, and how you connected the lines from their anthem to the field day. Wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Erin says:

    I loved the flash mob dancing! So fun to watch the passion within teachers shine through. The PE team took great pride in their creation and WOW look what happened!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sallydonnelly11 says:

      Even this morning as I read the morning paper and see all the depressing “stuff” going on, you are right – I get to work today (and for the rest of this week) with kids that have SO MUCH hope! Teaching keeps me upbeat!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

