Not an Orange story but a Slice story!

Last week, I prepared my students to write their final on-demand personal narrative story as a 3rd grader. We gathered on the carpet first and I reminded them to use all they now know about writing a strong personal narrative to write this piece.

“What will you do?” I asked.

We generated this list that I jotted on the white board.

IMG_7078

Then R said, “We should write Not an Orange.”

Confused, I suggested, “Say more.”

“We’ve been saying, ‘write a seed story, not a big watermelon story.’ But we’ve been zooming in to write a slice. So we should say Write a slice, not an orange.”

My confusion cleared. I got it!

And I’m happy to be a part of THIS writing community as I write this slice of life, my slice today of the larger orange story!

 

8 thoughts on “Not an Orange story but a Slice story!

Leave a Reply

